LibGuides: Arts, English, Humanities: Home

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Completeis a robust art research database providing full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This archival database features high-quality indexing of historical literature on a variety of art topics from the years 1929 to1984. Chronicling over half a century of art literature, it coversfine, decorative, and commercial art.
Literary Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Centeris Gales most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database offering the broadest and most representative range of authors and their works including a deep collection of full-text critical and literary analysis. The database provides researchers with unbounding evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collectionis an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Scribner Writers Series This link opens in a new window
Scribner Writer Series provides access to essays on the lives and works of authors from all around the world and from all time periods
Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new window
Twayne's is devoted to literary critical interpretation and discussion. It offers in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world, including close analysis of key works. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Providing access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students.

Additional Resources

Featured Book

Globalization and the Humanities by David Leiwei Li (Editor)
ISBN: 9789882201453
Publication Date: 2003-12-01

Search Terms

DESIGN -- Graphic Arts -- Typography.
Graphic arts -- Research.
ART -- Reference.
ART -- Performance.
Design -- Research.
Graphic design (Typography)
Type and type-founding.
Typography.
Typesetting.
Linguistics/writing:
Categorization (Linguistics)
Linguistic analysis (Linguistics)
Cognitive grammar.
Semantics.
Categorization (Linguistics)
Cognitive grammar.
Linguistic analysis (Linguistics)
Religion:
Theology.
Religious Philosophies.
Religion and Science

Know Your Deweys!

200.1 Philosophy and theory of religion

201 Philosophy of Christianity

220 Bible

221 Old Testament

225 New Testament

296 Judaism

297 Islam & religions originating in it

700 The arts

738 Ceramic arts

741 Drawing & drawings

741.6 Graphic design, illustration and commercial art

741.7 Silhouettes

750 Painting & paintings

760 Graphic arts; Printmaking & prints

770 Photography & photographs

780 Music

790.2 The performing arts in general

791.44 movies

792 Stage presentations

792.1 Tragedy and serious drama

792.2 Comedy and melodrama

800 Literature and rhetoric

801 Philosophy & theory

810 American or Canadian literature in English

820 British literature in English

822.3 Shakespeare

840 Literatures of Romance languages

Subject Liaison

Rusty Gaspard

Email Me

Contact:

(318) 473-6443

Subjects: Allied Health, Mathematics, Nursing, Physical Science