LibGuides: Psychology: Sociology

Subject Liaison

Lillian Purdy

Email Me

Contact:

318-473-6437

Databases

Abstracts in social gerontology This link opens in a new window This bibliographic database indexes essential age-related contentfor gerontology research. Those interested in the field of geriatrics will benefit from this resource, which includes records coveringkey areas relevant to geriatric studies.
Family studies abstracts This link opens in a new window With bibliographic records coveringfamilydynamics topics,Family Studies Abstractsis an excellent source for family studies researchers. Scholarscan accessunique content andhighly regarded works.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Violence and abuse abstracts This link opens in a new window This bibliographic database covers the essentialtopics related to the study of violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse and others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Providing access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, JSTOR is a digital library for scholars, researchers, and students.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.

Additional Resources

Journal of Social Work Education
open-source journal
Sociopedia.isa
open-source journal, peer-reviewed
Critical Sociology
open-source journal

Know Your Deweys!

301 Sociology & anthropology

302 Social interaction

302.2 Communication

302.5 Relation of the individual to society

303 Social processes

303.6 Conflict

304 Factors affecting social behavior

304.6 Population

305 Social groups

305.2 Age groups

305.8 Racial, ethnic, national groups

306.8 Marriage and family

306.9 Institutions pertaining to death

307 Communities

307.2 Population

Search Terms

Intersectionality, Gerentology, Sociology

Psychology: Sociology

Subject Liaison

Databases

Additional Resources

Know Your Deweys!

Search Terms

Professional Associations